Tread softly least you tread on my dreams……..

Had I the heavens’ embroidered cloths,
Enwrought with golden and silver light,
The blue and the dim and the dark cloths
Of night and light and the half-light,
I would spread the cloths under your feet:
But I, being poor, have only my dreams;
I have spread my dreams under your feet;
Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

WB Yeats

In September 2009 we held an event called The Spirit of Trees in Harthill Copse…..this was underwritten by our company UrbanCanvas and was run in support of Liverpool’s Year of the Environment celebrations.

The thing I really liked about this event was the pure enjoyment expressed by the children and teachers…..many of these kids had never seen an allotment before and the idea of decorating over 50 trees was just magical.

More than that the children have now created their own allotment at school…..and planted trees within the school ground……I will never forget the comment of one girl (relayed to me by one of the teachers) saying…” I really like trees! One day I’ll have children of my own and will walk past this school and I will say to them…I planted that!”

We and the teachers haven’t had the heart to tell them that the men have come and felled ‘their’ copse!

Sometimes things are best left in the empire of the senses and the memories of time………. 😦

This entry was published on February 16, 2010 at 10:59 pm. It’s filed under allotments, arts, culture, liverpool, street art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

