I am a novel writer…I come from down your way……..

Well, I’ve done it…….I’ve finally done it….I’ve decided to write a book. After many years of procrastination and self-doubt I’ve taken a huge leap into the unknown and purchased some novel-writing software (New Novelist 2.0) now strictly speaking a writer needs nothing more than ideas; and pen & paper….or in today’s age a computer and basic word processor. Who ever heard of George Orwell or DH Lawrence using a novel-writing guide?

Well I’m not really a writer, although I have dabbled over the years and I suppose I lack the confidence which naturally come from having a stable upbringing and a good education in the three R’s. I remember my first year at secondary school, a math’s teacher asked me to ‘say my algebra’ so I replied “AL-GEE-BRA” to which the entire classroom erupted into spontaneous laughter. From that moment on I was doomed to fail.

For years I’ve had a burning desire to tell a particular story, part fiction, part fact. It is true that everybody has a story to tell…..and I do believe that with a passion. The trouble is most of us don’t fulfill this promise……I’m reminded of the final time to die’ scene in the film Bladerunner (based on the Philip K. Dick novel – Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?) You know the bit…….”I’ve seen things you people wouldn’t believe. Attacked ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I watched c-beams glitter in the dark near the Tanhauser Gate. All those …..moments will be lost in time like tears in rain……..Time to die……”

It’s a fact that all novels fact or fiction are in some ways autobiographical …..within the pages the author is telling you something about his or herself. If it’s not told its lost forever, I’m currently reading George Orwell’s ‘Keep the Aspidistra Flying’ and although it’s about a fictitious character Gordon Comstock, it is really about Orwell. I know this because I know the writer.

This is the kind of book I want to write and I’ve made a start today…..the first line of my novel goes like this….”A Saturday afternoon in September was approaching the hours of twilight when………” OK, that’s all you’re getting! 😉

My first page is written, my ideas are set out….all I need to do now is have the strength of character, determination and creative energy to see this through…..easier said than done. I need to develop a writing routine. At least one hour per day and make sure it doesn’t interfere with other works or commitments. Somebody once said that a 1000 page book starts with a single word so there we have it!

Where’s all this going to end? Well I have no idea….At this stage I have no publishing ambitions or anything other than the desire to write…to tell a story I can believe in….to see if this little boy who couldn’t even say his ‘algebra‘ has anything more to say. Who knows; perhaps somebody may care to read it someday? Perhaps somebody would care to publish it someday? Perhaps somebody would care to buy it someday?

But for now……..someday can wait; today I just write.

And then perhaps something different will appear……“like tears in rain”………….it’s the way of the creative spirit to create and in doing so perhaps uncover the little natures that make us human!

This entry was published on March 21, 2010 at 9:59 pm. It’s filed under arts, books, culture, Ramblings, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

